Tachometer sweeps to 8000 RPM

Gotta love that wiring . . .
jefflgalla
Your car is a: 1981 Fiat 2000

Tachometer sweeps to 8000 RPM

Post by jefflgalla »

Greetings to Fiat forum group,
I have purchased a 1981 Fiat Spider with 37K miles on it that sat for a period of time. The body is in very good condition; however, the sitting has resulted in some issues that I have to work out. I have replaced the gas tank, fuel pump, filter along with the injectors due a rusty tank and the car is running pretty smooth. One problem I am unable to figure out, is the tachometer sweeps to 8000 rpm when I turn the ignition on, and it remains at 8000 rpms once the engine is started. I am not sure where to begin to begin to figure out the issue with the tachometer. The forum has been a great site as I am new to owning a Spider, but always liked the looks of this vehicle. Thanks for those who know the ins and outs of the Spider.
18Fiatsandcounting
Your car is a: 1969 and 1971 124 spiders

Re: Tachometer sweeps to 8000 RPM

Post by 18Fiatsandcounting »

jefflgalla wrote:One problem I am unable to figure out, is the tachometer sweeps to 8000 rpm when I turn the ignition on, and it remains at 8000 rpms once the engine is started.
That sounds to me like the signal wire for the tachometer (brown/white as I recall) is not connected to the right place. It should be connected to the opposite terminal on the coil from where the pink wire is connected.

Another (less likely) possibility is that the wiring behind the dash for the tachometer is messed up.

-Bryan
jefflgalla

Post by jefflgalla »

Thanks for the information. Will check out today with the wiring locations and post results.
jefflgalla

Post by jefflgalla »