Water pump problem

This is the place to discuss restoration problems, post questions or projects-complete or partial.
charlielucky
Your car is a: Fiat 124 2000 C3 1981 model

Water pump problem

Post by charlielucky »

Hi, I did a search and found a thread about difficulty in removing the water pump. My 1981 car was running beautifully after 25 years in the garage but then I realised that I've been a total novice in not checking the heating system works. The long and the short of it is the valve and heater core are completely rotten so I spent Sunday pulling them out of the car. I tried flushing the engine through with a hose pipe and realised just how gunged up the cooling system is. So now I have taken out the radiator and dropped it off to be cleaned and checked. The water pump looks like it has never been replaced so I decided to go the whole hog and replace it. The first two bolts came off easily but then the third nearest the lower pulley just snapped off about 3mm into the hole. The 4th bolt is a mystery to me because there is a metal cover so I can't get at it. In the 2012 post it talked about removing the lover pulley to get at this bolt. Is that my only option? I have a new timing belt kit on order so I might as well change that out at the same time. How can I get the broken bolt out? Can I use a punch and break the water pump around the bolt?
Nut124
Your car is a: 1978 124 Spider 1800

Re: Water pump problem

Post by Nut124 »

Usually, the water pump is done when replacing the timing belt.

If yours has the sheet metal covers down by the crank, then the crank pulley will need to come off to remove the sheet metal. I'd consider not reinstalling it. There might be a way to remove the sheet metal by cutting, destroying it, not sure. Crank pulley nut is on tight. Need a good impact wrench of a very long, strong breaker bar.

The snapped bolt should not keep the pump from coming out once the rest of the bolts are out.
18Fiatsandcounting