New to me 1979 spider 2000

This is the place to discuss restoration problems, post questions or projects-complete or partial.
rmalicki

New to me 1979 spider 2000

Post by rmalicki »

Hey all,
I'm new to the Fiat although I'm not new to Pininfarina in my opinion the greatest car designer of all time. I've always tried to find a way to get one of his Ferrari's but as we all know it take serious cash. I was doing research and stumbled on the Fiats. I've scene them and thought they were cool but never really thought about them. Any ways long story short i bought one two days ago.
I got it for $2000k and overall its in good shape and i've already driven 350 miles with zero issues besides the front end which needs new suspension parts ill be getting next week. I've spent years restoring vehicles from 1932 fords to 1982 shark corvette to everything in between. I love sports cars and i like them with character and needing work to become great...tinker toys that i can drive too.
I'm so excited i can barely sleep the last few nights. Like i said i'm new to the fiat and am doing all kinds of research. So i joined this site hoping to meet great people that are as or more excited about these sweet little works or rolling art. If anyone has good websites for research, tips, trick, or any information it would be greatly appreciated.
I have a few plans for her i'll throw out for comments:
Paint:
-I'm looking at painting her pearl white with a temperature changing paint that turns the pearl white red when its under 86 degrees, and i'm doing the abarth flat black down the center...SO in the heat she will be black and pearl white and in the winter or cold days she'll be red and black...and i'm doing some ghost graphics under the color change red that you only see with the white...any ideas on custom airbrush graphics would be great.
Wheels: