1800 engine swap into '69 124 electrical question

Gotta love that wiring . . .
GP69124SPORT

1800 engine swap into '69 124 electrical question

Post by GP69124SPORT »

Ok, so I read through the forums, and the biggest question I would have about taking the 1800 out of a '75 124 I have, and dropping into my '69 124, is the wiring on the 1800 dist. Before someone says "USE THE SEARCH", I did. I didn't/couldn't find anything in the forums covering this exact topic. If there is something covering it, please feel free to direct me to it so I don't waste anyone's time. I need to know where the 2 wires coming off the 1800s dizzy go to inside the fire wall. I can of course, just follow them and pull the wiring, and put it in the '69. I'm NOT an electrical engineer by any means. Actually I hate wiring (Don't Fiat 124s have electrical issues? Please tell me they don't! Lie if you have too!) If there is an easy solution to the 2 Dist wires I am refering to, please let me know. I know I have to move the coil etc, but I was just planning on moving it from the location it's currently in the '75, to the location it's already in, on the '69. Basically, from one side of the car to the other.

I see that the engine should pretty much drop right in according to what I have read on here. Unless I misunderstood, which is totally possible. I do however have a 1970 with what I believe is a good engine, that I could easily just pull and do a RnR on, but I like a challenge. Unless it's electrical, then I turn around and run, really fast. Anyway, I welcome everyone's imput, and have a great day. -Dave
maytag
Your car is a: 1976 124 spider

Re: 1800 engine swap into '69 124 electrical question

Post by maytag »

GP69124SPORT wrote:(Don't Fiat 124s have electrical issues? Please tell me they don't! Lie if you have too!)
OK. There are no electrical issues on 124's. None. As a matter of fact: I've pulled-out ALL of the wiring and fuses on mine, and everything still works! :roll: