Cylinder Head Stripped Stud Holes

This is the place to discuss restoration problems, post questions or projects-complete or partial.
DustyDave
Your car is a: 1978 Fiat 124 Spider

Cylinder Head Stripped Stud Holes

Post by DustyDave »

Hello,
I have a 1978 Fiat Spider that I have been restoring for the last 18 months. I hit a significant setback today.... I have the engine back in and was installing the exhaust manifold. I have a refurbished head and installed brand new studs for the exhaust and intake manifolds. As I was torqueing the exhaust manifold to head nuts to 18 ft lbs, 3 torqued fine to 18 ft lbs and on the 4th one I realized one nut was starting to get looser. Sure enough, it pulled the threads right out of the head. I had torqued it to 10 ft lbs fine, was attempting 16 ft lbs when it stripped. What a let down, given all the time I took to install cam's, set valve gaps, install it on the engine, etc.
So first of all, is this typical of used heads? Is there anything to be done to prevent this from happening, or a way to check that a given head/thread will not strip?
Second, what to do? Can it be repaired, install helicoils or weld over and retap? Does head have to come off engine to do any of that? Should I just get a new head to the tune of ~$1K? Does anyone have a good refurbished head for sale? Trying to consider all my options for a robust solution that will not break the bank or my patience.
Thanks in advance for any advice or thoughts. Feel free to share any experiences as well as misery loves company.
Thanks,
David
ORFORD2004
Your car is a: 1983 PININFARINA

Re: Cylinder Head Stripped Stud Holes

Post by ORFORD2004 »

Helicoil for shure
DustyDave

Post by DustyDave »