elec. fuel pump wiring

Gotta love that wiring . . .
narfire
Your car is a: 1980 124 spider

elec. fuel pump wiring

Post by narfire »

Getting motivated to finish off a 72 I've been mucking with for a couple of years.
For whatever the reason I've gone to an electric fuel pump mounted next to the fuel tank. I've grounded the black nearby and have run the red wire up and now underneith the dash. I have a relay and am wanting to wire the pump somehow in conjunction to the oil pressure sending unit so in case of accident and the engine stops and ignition is still on, the pump will stop.
The electrical is at the top of my weak point list.
Anyone done this and could shed some light as to what if any connections to the ignition, relay, and oil sending unit I have to make this work.
One can PM at work here okcustomcut@telus.net if someone wants to take this on :wink:
Thanks people
Chris
80 FI spider
72 work in progress
2017 Golf R ( APR Stg. 1)
2018 F350 crew long box
westy64

Re: elec. fuel pump wiring

Post by westy64 »

narfire wrote:Getting motivated to finish off a 72 I've been mucking with for a couple of years.
For whatever the reason I've gone to an electric fuel pump mounted next to the fuel tank. I've grounded the black nearby and have run the red wire up and now underneith the dash. I have a relay and am wanting to wire the pump somehow in conjunction to the oil pressure sending unit so in case of accident and the engine stops and ignition is still on, the pump will stop.
The electrical is at the top of my weak point list.
Anyone done this and could shed some light as to what if any connections to the ignition, relay, and oil sending unit I have to make this work.
One can PM at work here okcustomcut@telus.net if someone wants to take this on :wink:
Thanks people
Chris
Chris,

I am in the same process on my 76, but I am not sure of the way it works.
far from being an expert, and still need a last help on this but here is my understanding.