soldering vs. mechanical connections

Gotta love that wiring . . .
eman2112

soldering vs. mechanical connections

Post by eman2112 »

For everyone that looks to make quick splices in wires just to get things working; I say this. Always take the time to make perfect solder joints with heat shrink tubing which can be slipped over the connection after. Save your self a lot of trouble from trying to find shorts later on just to figure out that the butt connector was not seated or crimped properly. Just solder it and use shrink tubing to cover the joint. Our cars demand a lot of preventive maint. Save your selves some headaches.
Now saying all that... I am an aircraft mechanic and we never use any mechanical but connectors or quick splices. Lives depend on it. So why trust you beloved fiat and your life to the same BS connectors. Do it right the first time. Drive her again another day.
RupertSportSpider

Re: soldering vs. mechanical connections

Post by RupertSportSpider »

Holy overpost, Batman!

OEMs today use crimp connectors of various types. If you do it right and carefully, crimps work perfectly and are less of a pain that soldering. I try to use heatshrink over crimps, too. It helps to spend the $30 on a really good crimper.
Fi8spider
Your car is a: 1974 Fiat 124 Spider

Post by Fi8spider »

When I converted my Spider to RHD (way before digital cameras so no pics sorry folks) I did it using solder joints and heat shrink. Not one problem in over 20 years.