Brakes pull to left

Maintenance advice to keep your Spider in shape.
Mgardstr
Your car is a: 1979 Fiat 2000

Brakes pull to left

Postby Mgardstr » Mon Jul 24, 2017 4:24 pm

I just purchased a 1979 2000 5spd that had only been driven 3K miles in 10 years and otherwise has sat in a dark garage. The master cylinder was replaced 11 years ago and everything on the brakes worked fine. The seller said the brakes had been working fine, but during a test drive they suddenly locked up on the left front, getting real hot and caused the car to suddenly dart to the right. I replaced the left side brake hose and the lock up went away, but now, instead of darting the right, the car darts to the left. The brakes are no longer locking up as they did before I replaced the brake hose. I have tried bleeding the system twice. Once with the mityvac and once with my wife pushing the brake pedal. No more air comes out.

I'm just a hobby mechanic, so I have a few questions:
1. Is it possible the brake pad was damaged by the heat when the left caliper locked up and it is causing the brakes to pull to the left?
2. Could this be a bad master cylinder? Does the master cylinder work diagonal in case of failure, or does it always just work all four wheels?
3. I couldn't get the right side flex hose loose from the steel line. Is having a new flex hose on the left and an old one on the right an issue that might cause pulling to the left?

It's not drivable in this condition. Too squirrely!

DieselSpider
Your car is a: 1978 124 Spider with Isuzu Turbo Diesel

Re: Brakes pull to left

Postby DieselSpider » Mon Jul 24, 2017 11:04 pm

If it has been sitting mostly for 10 years and one rubber hose needed replacing than likely all the rubber hoses need replacing and all the caliper guides need cleaning and lubricating with silicone brake grease and the entire system flushed of all old brake fluid.