Solid green turn signals and no fan

Gotta love that wiring . . .
v76124
Your car is a: 1976 Fiat 124 Spider

Solid green turn signals and no fan

Postby v76124 » Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:19 pm

Hi folks,

I'm having an issue with my 76 spider and since I'm a noob, I wanted to see if the collective wisdom here might be able to help me out. I want to do/fix as much as I can since I daily drive my spider.

Before yesterday, everything was working fine. All lights/signals/hazards worked and the radiator fan kicked on just past 190.

The issue
Since yesterday (Monday), the turn signal is staying a solid green on the dash when the car is running (it flashes if I use the turn signal, and turns off if I hit the hazard button). The signals/hazards still work fine on the outside, but the radiator fan no longer kicks in at 190 (I've let it run till it almost hit the red zone to check). Before yesterday, the turn signals would light up only when I hit the stalk (both lights would flash green in the dash, unlike newer cars where you only flash left or right).

What changed?
I installed new seat belts on Sunday. The old seatbelt had the seatbelt wire (but it wasn't connected), the new one doesn't have a wire. Not sure if that matters.

I also tuned the carb on Sunday to sort out the fast idle. I tried the fast idle switch on the drivers side fender but it didn't work (I pressed it a bunch of times, but did nothing).

I checked for coolant, the rad is full and coolant looked good but the overflow tank is empty (its not the stock one) if that matters.

So is the solid turn signal a warning light of some sort? Where should I start looking/decoding this problem to begin?

Thanks for reading!
Vee

TX82FIAT
Your car is a: 82 Fiat Spider 2000 CSO

Re: Solid green turn signals and no fan

Postby TX82FIAT » Wed Apr 18, 2018 9:29 am