emissions control deletion and motor build questions

Keep it on topic, it will make it easier to find what you need.
Gplayer
Your car is a: 1980 Spider

emissions control deletion and motor build questions

Postby Gplayer » Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:59 pm

Hey guys, first post and all that. I'm a racing mechanic working on historic road race cars, including a lot of Ferrari's recently. I can't afford a Ferrari, so I bought a baby Ferrari! It's an automatic 80 spider 2000 carbed motor. I already yanked off the horrible intake and carb, all the emissions bs, and the horrible exhaust manifold. I recently bought a 77 parts car, yanked the manual stuff out of it, and scrapped it (don't worry, it was way too far gone for restoration). I've been doing a little bit of shopping on various sites, and I've got a little bit of a list going, but I want to know what yall's opinions are on what I should do. Keep in mind my budget isn't huge, and I'd like to drive the car before the end of summer.

Current plans are: manual swap (already have)
Intake and carb swap (single plane and 32/36 empi carb)
Vicks 40/80, 80/40 cams
4-2-1 header with exhaust to match
lightweight flywheel if it's in the budget
uprated clutch if it's in the budget

Feel free to tell me if I'm being stupid. And yes, I did search the forum, wanted to get personalized answers.

edit: forgot to add I want to do basic things like an aluminum rad and overflow bottle and so on.

baltobernie
Patron 2020
Patron 2020
Your car is a: 1973 Spider [sold]

Re: emissions control deletion and motor build questions

Postby baltobernie » Tue Apr 10, 2018 9:14 pm

Hello and welcome! These are great little cars. A lot of fun to drive, and inexpensive enough so that modifications don't ruin their value.

Before you start your mods, have you done a compression test? Taken a peek with a borescope or at least a look at the plugs?