High fast idle

Keep it on topic, it will make it easier to find what you need.
v76124
Your car is a: 1976 Fiat 124 Spider

High fast idle

Postby v76124 » Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:42 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Fiat ownership (or any classic/old car ownership). I got a 76 124 as a daily driver last week and its been a blast to drive so far other than a small issue. I'm in the Bay Area (Northern Cali) so its never too cold (prob low 40's at its coldest) if it makes any difference. The car has the 1800 with a 34 ADF carb with automatic choke and stock air filter.

When I start the car, I pump the gas twice and it fires right up but revs at 2.5k rpm and slowly goes up to 3k for a full 2 mins or more sometimes. I thought you could disengage the fast idle by stabbing the throttle quickly? This doesn't work in the beginning, but it will come down to normal idle speed (around 850 rpm prob) after a few minutes.

Sometimes it comes down to normal after a good stab of the throttle but goes back to 3k rpm at the first stoplight (about 150m down the road) and then goes down after another minute or 2 of driving. This gets annoying real quick since I live in a residential neighbourhood and don't want to be the moron revving his engine in the mornings

I have also tried starting without hitting the gas, it catches and dies (or stays on sometimes). I tried starting with the throttle fully open and that seems to kinda work? It goes to fast idle but comes down to normal if I stab the throttle (but not all the time).

So, I'm having a hard time understanding how not to be revving at 2.5-3k rpm in the mornings and annoying my neighbours. I thought the choke was only for 10 secs or so? I watched some videos of users adjusting electric chokes with notches in the spring - mine looks like a hot water fed choke (34 ADF) so haven't tried that yet but it only has 1 tick/mark.

Is there a way of adjusting the fast idle to not be so high?

Nanonevol
Patron 2018
Patron 2018