1977 Refurbishment

This is the place to discuss restoration problems, post questions or projects-complete or partial.
Texafornian
Your car is a: 1977 Fiat 124 Spider

1977 Refurbishment

Postby Texafornian » Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:18 pm

Hi all, I am new to both auto work and Fiats, but when my neighbor offered up a spider for sale, I couldn't resist. I hesitate to call this project a restoration, as my original intention was just to get it running again, but as I started to clean it up, I am finding many mini-projects (rust in battery box, floorboard rust, etc.) that are making it seem more restoration-ish...

Regardless, in the spirit of my original intent, I have some questions I hope the esteemed members of this forum can help with. I know that first order of business is to replace the timing belt and giubo, and replace all rubber under the hood. There appears to be oil leaking from just about every drive train gasket, so I am thinking of trying to take care of some of that as well, and there is a non-functional AC system taking up space in the engine bay. So here goes:

1. Is there a rule of thumb as far as how many feet of which diameters of hosing is needed to "replace the rubber under the hood" - ex. 5 feet of 5mm, 5 feet of 7mm, etc. I plan to order from Bayless, etc., but wanted to zero in on quantities.

2. Is there a general order of operations to get me running again? Here is what I was thinking:
- Remove the radiator
- Remove the timing belt cover and old belts
- Remove the AC system (see below)
- Remove and rebuild carburetor
- Replace cam cover gaskets, head gasket
- Do any tune-up work I can (adjust valve spacing, etc.)
- Put engine & carb back together
- Replace timing belt, bearing, water pump
- Replace radiator and hoses
- Replace fluid - coolant, engine oil, transmission fluid
- See if she'll start
- Optional step - seek professional help

Did I miss anything? Does that make sense? Overkill?