The Tale of Antonia

This is the place to discuss restoration problems, post questions or projects-complete or partial.
blurple124
Your car is a: 1978 Fiat 124 Spider

The Tale of Antonia

Postby blurple124 » Wed Jul 25, 2012 2:30 pm

Where It All Began

I suppose I should start this with a formal introduction. My name is Charlie Scanlon, I am a 20 year old student of Mechanical Engineering at Milwaukee School of Engineering (MSOE), which may or may not be an engineering school in downtown Milwaukee, Wisconsin. I have no prior experience restoring vehicles, though many of my friends can testify that I have a bit of an obsession when it comes to cars. I am President of the school’s SAE Chapter and Project Manager of a high mileage vehicle team. Both of these have given me a great deal of experience in setting and meeting goals, as well as design of automotive parts.

I am starting this blog so for my own sake, to maintain documentation, and also for those of you who find the same enjoyment I do in watching something transform by the work of passionate hands. This will likely be the most long-winded post I write, and I will be doing more with pictures than words from here on out. Congratulations to those of you who have taken the time to read this first post. I hope that you can relate to some stories I have and can learn from them without struggling as I have.

Speaking of lessons, here are a few that I have learned in the year that I have already owned the car:
1. Nothing ever, ever goes the way to expect it to.
2. Preparation is 95% of anything.
3. You are going to bleed, whether it is your knuckles or your brain.
4. There is always something to spend money on, but that doesn’t mean you have to.
5. You have to get dirty if you want something to look clean.
6. Do it once, do it right, take your time.
7. Fixing something is really just a method of figuring out what else is wrong.